Frequently Asked Questions
Medical Cannabis is quickly expanding in Florida. Our clinic works hard to stay up to date with the ever changing laws and regulations so our patients stay in compliance with Florida State law. Here's the answers to some of your most frequent questions.
How can I make an appointment?
Call us at 352-616-9892 or take our pre-qualify survey and one of our staff will get back to you as soon as possible. We're currently taking patients in Spring Hill and Land O' Lakes.
You can also schedule online:
What do I need to have for my first appointment?
- Submit patient forms online in advance of appointment (you can find them here but they will also be emailed to you at the time of booking)
- Upload medical records (with intake forms), fax to us in advance, or bring them with you to the appointment
- Passport photo (CVS, Walgreens, AAA)*
- Government issued ID or proof of residency
*Required only if you do not have a current Florida Driver's License or State ID card.
Your initial visit will take approximately 45 minutes to 1 hour. We will help you to complete all requirements to obtain your State issued Medical Marijuana Registry ID card.
Can we do a virtual appointment (skype, videochat, Phone)?
No. Florida law requires physicians to conduct a face to face physical evaluation in order to certify a patient for medical marijuana. For patients with mobility restrictions, we will happily provide a home visit - just ask.
Is my treatment confidential?
Absolutely. Your privacy is of the utmost importance. We comply with all HIPAA privacy standards. We will not release your medical records without your written consent.
Do I need medical records?
Yes. To be eligible for Medical Marijuana, you must have medical records documenting your qualifying condition(s). Unless discussed with us otherwise, these records must be from within the last year. We can request your records on your behalf, but we strongly prefer that you bring them to the evaluation appointment. Our doctor cannot certify a patient or submit a medication order without proper documentation.
What kind of medical records do i need?
The good news is that we don't need extensive records - an office note documenting your condition & dated within the last year will suffice. We do not need a letter from your physician. Office notes are copies of the medical charting from your doctor visits and evaluations. We do not need labs and/or imaging.
What if I need to reschedule?
It's not a problem. Call (352-616-9892) or email us and we will be happy to reschedule your appointment. Please provide at least 24 hour advance notice to avoid a $25 cancellation fee.
What are the costs?
Our initial evaluation and certification visit is $250. Follow up appointments, including re-certification visits are $150.
The Office of Medical Marijuana Use (formerly the Office of Compassionate Use) requires patients to submit a completed application and obtain a Medical Marijuana Registry ID card. The application fee is $75 and must be renewed yearly.
Medication costs vary by dispensary and delivery method. Medication is not taxed.
Do you accept insurance?
No. While legal on a state level, medicinal cannabis remains illegal on a federal level. This prevents insurance companies from providing reimbursement for cannabis treatment.
Do you provide refunds?
If the doctor determines that you are ineligible for certification (at your initial evaluation appointment) we will refund your appointment fee. We do our best to pre-screen all patients so this does not happen. We are unable to offer refunds for any other circumstances.
How often do I have to see the doctor?
We will see you for a follow up recertification visit approximately 4 months after your initial evaluation. This is standard medical practice for patients taking medications and allows us to further assist you in getting the most out of your medical cannabis care. If medically appropriate, you will then be transitioned to a 6 month follow up recertification schedule.
FLORIDA MEDICAL MARIJUANA PROGRAM
Medical marijuana is legal in Florida?
Yes! Florida first legalized medical cannabis in 2014 when the Legislature passed the Compassionate Use Act allowing patients suffering from cancer and epilepsy to access low-THC cannabis. This program was expanded in 2016 under the Right to Try Act which permitted full strength cannabis to patients with a terminal illness.
On November 8, 2016 Florida voters passed Amendment 2 with a 71.3% majority, allowing for a larger medical cannabis program, effective January 2017. On June 23, 2017 Governor Rick Scott signed Senate Bill 8A into law, removing the dreaded "90 day wait" and establishing operational guidelines to meet the requirements of Amendment 2. The program is still in a fluid state, with lawsuits expected for patient's rights to flower, smoking, and home grow. Rules and regulations are expected to change over time.
how do I get my medical marijuana ID Card?
Florida requires that patients obtain a certification from a qualifying physician during a face to face medical evaluation. Qualifying physicians have completed training specific to medicinal marijuana. After obtaining a certification (and being entered into the registry), a patient must submit an application to the Office of Medical Marijuana Use to obtain an ID card. Once a patient receives their temporary (via email) or permanent ID card and an order from their physician they may purchase medication at a licensed dispensary.
What conditions qualify?
- Post-traumatic stress disorder
- Amyotrophic lateral sclerosis
- Crohn's disease
- Parkinson's disease
- Multiple sclerosis
- Medical conditions of the same kind or class as or comparable to those listed
- Terminal illness
- Chronic nonmalignant pain
What are medical conditions of the same kind or class?
State law allows doctors the ability to certify patients for medical cannabis who are suffering from conditions that have similar symptoms, processes, or debilitating nature as those listed. This may include a wide array of chronic illness and symptoms. If you have a medical condition that you believe may benefit from medical cannabis contact us to discuss further.
HOW MUCH MEDICAL CANNABIS CAN I PURCHASE?
Our doctor will work with you to decide on the best dosing and delivery methods for your needs. An order can be submitted for up to 70 days of medication at a time, but you do not have to purchase your entire order at once. We recommend experimenting with different products and strains to find the best fit before making a large purchase. You will know within the first 1-2 days of use if a product is effective for your needs.
Read this blog post to better understand purchasing limits.
Do I have to be a Florida resident?
Sort of. Florida law requires that patients are Florida residents or seasonal residents. To qualify as a seasonal resident you must live in Florida at least 31 consecutive days per year.
What do I need to prove residency?
Full time residents must submit a copy of their Florida issued driver's license or ID with their Medical Marijuana Use Registry identification card application.
Seasonal residents must submit two of the following documents as proof of residency:
- A deed, mortgage statement, mortgage payment booklet, or residential rental/lease agreement.
- One proof of address from the patient's parent, step-parent, legal guardian, or other person with whom the patient resides. The patient must also submit a statement from the person with whom the patient resides attesting that the patient does in fact live with him/her.
- A utility hookup, work order, or utility bill not more than 2 months old.
- Mail from a bank or financial institution.
- Mail from a federal, state, county, or municipal government agency, not more than 2 months old.
- Other documentation that provides proof of residential address may be accepted by department rule.
Can someone else pick up my medication?
Yes, but they must be your legal representative/caregiver. If you require assistance, you may assign a Caregiver who can pick up, carry, and administer your medication for you.
To become a Caregiver an individual must meet certain conditions*:
- At least 21 years of age
- Complete a certification course
- Pass a background check
- Submit a completed application (with a fee)
- Cannot be a qualified physician or employed in a medical marijuana treatment center (dispensary)
- Assigned within the Registry to a specific patient
- Provide proof of Legal Representation (power of attorney, health care surrogate, guardianship)
*This process is still evolving and may not yet be in place.
Where do I purchase my medication?
Medical marijuana patients must purchase their medication from a licensed Medical Marijuana Treatment Center, also called a dispensary.
Trulieve is currently the closest dispensary for the majority of our patients. A list of other qualified dispensaries can be found here. You can purchase directly at the dispensary or through a delivery service. We recommend that patients go to the dispensary for their initial purchase if possible. The dispensary staff will guide you through their product lines and help you choose medication tailored to your needs.
I have a marijuana ID card from another state. can I use it?
No. Florida does not have reciprocity between other states' programs. If you are a permanent or seasonal Florida resident you will need to qualify under the Florida program.
Can I grow my own medical cannabis?
No. Florida does not allow patients to grow, smoke, or otherwise posses flower unless it is in a tamper proof container made for vaping and purchased through a licensed MMTC (dispensary).
Can I purchase medicine when traveling to other legal states?
Possibly. Some states allow for reciprocity, but you'll need to check the regulations of the state you are traveling to for specifics.
does florida law permit smoking?
At this time Florida law does not permit smoking cannabis, but there are a variety of legal delivery methods including vaporizing, oral/edibles, topicals, tincture, and oils.